于体育与文化而言,1993年确实是不平凡的一年。MICHAEL JORDAN夺下了生涯第三冠,关于史前巨兽的电影横空出世,而嘻哈与蓝调音乐也在榜单上宣告着它们的位置。不少未来的超级巨星都出生在这一年,其中包括了网球运动员SLOANE STEPHENS。现年26岁的她,无论场上场下都彰显着自己的影响力。

或许SLOANE热爱AIR JORDAN 8这件事,不足为奇。不仅因为这双鞋与她同年诞生于世,更因为它独一无二的“AQUA”配色所引起的风潮。当还只是青少年时,SLOANE就已经喜欢穿着“AQUA”配色的球鞋,并决定将这个色系带到全新的领域 – 网球。在这个夏天,她将会带着“AQUA”配色的专业网球鞋NIKE AIR ZOOM ZERO首次亮相,并代言场下版本的“AQUA” JORDAN AIR LATITUDE 720。

许多人之所以会认识SLOANE,是因为2017年的美国公开赛。以83号种子身份参赛的她,最终带走了这次大满贯的冠军奖杯。不懈的训练以及对网球的热爱,让她走到了那个神奇的时刻。SLOANE在她繁忙的日程中抽空向我们展现了她是如何搭配AQUA配色的球鞋,也分享了独属于她的风格,比赛精神以及旅途。

你是什么时候得到自己第一双JORDAN球鞋的?或者第一双AIR JORDAN 8

大概是在我五至六年级的时候,当时我是班上唯一穿球鞋的女生。大概在13岁左右,我收到了人生中第一双AIR JORDAN 8, 自此之后我就更加关注这双鞋的细节。有人告诉我,这双鞋是在93年面世的,我便立马被它吸引住了。因为我也在这一年出生,所以能感觉到自己与它有着独特的联系。

为什么你特别喜欢“AQUA”这个配色,能详细讲讲吗?

因为这是永远都不会过时的经典配色!每次看到它,都会让我想起阿加西[1]的比赛。这就是为什么它能不断复刻,并回归到我们的视野中。一直以来,我都是球鞋的爱好者,尤其是AIR JORDAN系列。而在这次的拍摄中,我最喜欢的一套搭配,是用时髦的米色西装外套以及运动内衣来衬托这双AQUA配色的AIR JORDAN 8,尽管我平常大多穿着运动套装。

我们知道你花费了许多时间在芝加哥训练,也成长于JORDAN球鞋的陪伴下。对你来说,MICHAEL JORDAN的成就有什么特殊的意义吗?

我爱<太空大灌篮>!(大笑)。说真的,MICHAEL JORDAN是有史以来最伟大的运动员之一,而且不仅于此,他超越了篮球这个单一的领域,推动了运动文化的建立。无论你做什么,你都会知道他是谁,以及他前无古人的成就。更何况他还没止步,他还在做很多不同的事呢!我真的很敬佩这点。

对于训练或者比赛用鞋(包括AIR ZOOM ZERO),你有什么特别的要求或者偏好吗?

这个嘛,在几年前经历过脚部手术后,我变得更加重视脚上穿的鞋子。如果有任何感觉不对,我都一定要马上解决异样的情况。简单来说,就是要让自己感觉舒服!

观看你的网球比赛实在是一件令人高兴的事。你能给我们描述一下,当你知道自己的发挥在最高水平时,是一种怎么样的感觉吗?

就是那种感觉:当你站上场后,身边所有东西都恰如其分。你的移动流畅到位,还击精准有力,然后打出属于自己的风格。在那一刻,你会将这个奇妙的感觉延续下去。

在接二连三打了这么多比赛后,你是如何激励自己保持训练不断前进的?而日常在去往比赛的途中,你会做些什么?

我需要做到的,就只是活在当下,保持每一天专注于一件事情。如果你想得太远,压力会让你觉得喘不过气来。我没有一套特别详尽的日程。我通常在同一时间醒来,享用我的早餐,然后是网球训练以及健身房训练。把这些都完成后,我就能享受放松的时光。我很喜欢不同的食物,如果在比赛途中,我会去尝试那些新的餐厅。此外,我也会用精油以及香薰机放松自我。我会尽量让生活保持简单。

你觉得外界对你有哪些误解?

我觉得,有时候人们会把我冷静的行为方式误认为缺乏干劲。但其实这是为了让我的思路变得清晰。我看起来很放松也没有什么表情,是因为想让自己专注在当下这个特殊时刻。

那外界对网球这项运动,又有哪些误解呢?

我觉得大家都不太清楚,这项运动其实是如此地孤单。这是一项个人比赛项目。作为一名职业选手,你一年里大概有四十周都要外出旅行比赛。绝大多数时间中,就只有你的教练跟着你,偶尔或许会有父母、朋友或是配偶的陪伴。你真的会需要一个强大的体系在背后支持你。

你是在什么时候决定成立SLOANE STEPHENS基金会的呢?对此你的目标是什么?现在做的怎么样?

我是在2013年成立这个基金会的。SLOANE STEPHENS基金会的初衷,是通过让更多的青少年接触到网球这项运动,并发展为可以终身学习的健康生活方式,来提高他们生活质量。我们和COMPTON联合学区一起努力,带给这群孩子一些不常有的机会。我们为他们准备了课间与课余的网球训练,以及网球夏令营。此外,我们也会提供一些教育类型的帮助,例如SAT[2]的备考以及阅读课程。至今,我们服务过的学生已经超过了5,000名。我已经等不及想看到这个数字继续扩大下去。

JORDAN AIR LATITUDE 720以及AIR JORDAN 8 RETRO 已經發售,https://store.nike.com/cn/zh_cn/pw/jordan-women%27s-collection/13tf 立即前往

Left to Right: Nike Air Zoom Zero “Aqua,” Jordan Air Latitude 720 “Aqua” and Air Jordan VIII “Aqua”

Shop Now

WOMEN’S AIR JORDAN VIII

'AQUA'

SHOP NOW

Photos: Davey Adesida

Styling: Anna Bediones

1993 was an eventful year in sport and culture, and not just because MJ won championship #3. There was that larger-than-life dinosaur movie, and hip-hop and R&B were claiming their spots on the charts, too. A few future superstars were born that year, including tennis player, Sloane Stephens, who at 26 years old is a force on and off the court.

Perhaps it’s no surprise that Sloane’s favorite Air Jordan is the VIII. Not only did it come out during her birth year, it made waves with its unmistakable “Aqua” colorway. As a teenager, Sloane started rocking the white “Aqua” version, and decided to bring the color palette into a new realm — tennis. This summer, she’ll debut an “Aqua” version of an on-court shoe, the Nike Air Zoom Zero, and she’s also repping the off-court “Aqua” Jordan Air Latitude 720.

Many were introduced to Sloane at the 2017 U.S. Open, where she entered as no. 83 and left as a champion. Everything that led up to that moment, and all that has come after, are a result of her tireless work ethic and love for tennis. Sloane took a break from her busy schedule to show us how she rocks “Aqua” and to talk style, her game mentality and travel.

When did you get your first pair of Jordans? What about the Air Jordan VIIIs?

It was probably in the fifth or sixth grade, when I was the only girl who was into sneakers. I got the VIIIs around age 13, when I started caring more about the details. Someone told me they came out with the VIIIs in ‘93, so I became instantly attracted to them, since that’s the year I was born. I feel a connection to that.

What do you like about the “Aqua” colorway, in particular?

It’s timeless. It reminds me of when [Andre] Agassi played. It’s a colorway that keeps coming back and for good reason. I’ve always been a fan of sneakers and Air Jordans, in particular. During this shoot, my favorite ‘fit with the white Aqua VIIIs was the chic, off-white suit with a sports bra, though I’ll always wear them with my sweats, too.

As someone who’s trained and spent time in Chicago, but also grown up with Jordans, what does Michael Jordan’s legacy mean to you?

I mean, I loved Space Jam! [Laughs] But really, MJ is the greatest athlete of all time, and more than that, he goes beyond basketball. He helped build this culture. He was bigger than sports. No matter what you do, you know who he is and what he did. And he doesn’t stop. He’s still doing a million things! I really respect that.

Do you have any rituals or traditions when it comes to your practice or competition shoes, including with the Air Zoom Zero?

Well, I had foot surgery a couple years ago, so that made me even more conscious of what I’m putting on my feet. If there’s anything that feels off, I make sure to address it right away. Put simply, it has to feel good!

Watching you play tennis is such a joy. Can you describe what it feels like when you know you’re playing at your best?

It’s just that. You’re out there, and everything is just clicking. You’re moving well, you’re making your shots and you’re playing your game. You have to take it moment to moment.

“MJ is the greatest athlete of all time. He helped build this culture.”

How do you motivate yourself to train and keep going, especially playing so many games in quick succession? What’s your routine on the road?

I just have to take it one day at a time. If you think too far ahead, it can get overwhelming. I don’t have a specific routine. I usually wake up around the same time. I always have breakfast, practice, gym and then just chill. I’m a big foodie, so I like to try new restaurants on the road. Then I usually unwind with some essential oils and my diffuser. I keep it simple.

What do you think are some of the biggest misconceptions about you?

I think people mistake my calm demeanor on court for a lack of energy. I stay calm, so my mind stays clear and ready. I look relaxed and don’t show a lot of emotion, because I’m trying to stay in that specific moment and not get ahead of myself.

What about the misconceptions of tennis, as a sport?

For tennis, I think that people don’t realize how lonely the sport is. It’s an individual sport. You’re traveling around 40 weeks a year. Most of the time, it’s just you and your coach and occasionally a parent, friend or spouse. It’s a lot. You need to have a really strong support system.

When and why did you decide to start the Sloane Stephens Foundation? What are your goals with it, and how is it going so far?

I started the foundation in 2013. The primary goal of the Sloane Stephens Foundation is to enhance the quality of life for the youth, through exposure to tennis as a basis for life-long learning and healthy lifestyle choices. We work with the Compton Unified School District to give these kids opportunities that they wouldn’t usually have. We have after school, Saturday and P.E. tennis along with play days, summer camp and educational components like SAT prep and reading assessments. So far, we have serviced over 5,000 students, and I can’t wait to see that number grow.

The Air Jordan VIII “Aqua” (White) is available starting July 12 from Jordan.com and select retailers. The Jordan Air Latitude 720 “Aqua” (White) is now available at select retailers. The Nike Air Zoom Zero “Aqua” (White) is a player exclusive.

Left to Right: Nike Air Zoom Zero “Aqua,” Jordan Air Latitude 720 “Aqua” and Air Jordan VIII “Aqua”

Shop Now

WOMEN’S AIR JORDAN VIII

'AQUA'

SHOP NOW