Interview: Elle Clay

Photos: Anthony Blasko

“The Fearless Ones”系列,鼓励积极挑战,充满才能的全新一代。


Melody Ehsani在成为设计师之前,20来岁时的她是一名焦躁不安的法学院学生,只在法学院呆了一周,并在商业篮球的世界里呆了几个月,但出于对产品设计的渴望,当时的她重新选择了在帕萨迪纳市艺术中心的进修,这将她带到另一条职业道路上。她妈妈是名画师,起初对Melody在职业方向上180度的转变非常不赞成。身边的人也逐渐疏离了她,认为她只是一时兴起,对她的满腔热情不予理会。但即便身处如此恶劣的情况,她依然坚持了下来。

Melody对珠宝设计的初次尝试,包括了一系列镶着施华洛世奇水晶的竹制耳饰。当其他公司都希望用贵金属来呈现设计时,Melody以亚克力有机玻璃制作了一款三指戒指。她早期的设计还包括了具有传奇色彩的彩色羽毛饰品以及金字塔式的戒指,而这些产品都曾广受欢迎。此外,她也曾为舞台表演设计珠宝饰品,包括一些为知名艺术家与表演者私人订制的产品。

当Melody开始设计她的第一款女鞋系列时,唯一回应她的是来自中国的厂家。从不畏惧改变的她,收拾行囊就搬来中国住了六个月,全身心投入于整个细节与生产流程中。当她回到美国时,她将数百对鞋子存放在她位于洛杉矶的小公寓中。不久之后,她得到了来自Prince的垂青(没错,就是那位Prince)。三年之后,海关在边境查封了她整个系列的鞋子(即便如此也没能阻挡她)。时至今日,Melody已经拥有属于她的Air Jordan I合作款——鞋面上有着丰富的色块拼接,并在中底部分则印上了她朋友Julie Burns-Walker的语录。

街头服饰曾经(在许多方面,现在依然)是一个属于男生的俱乐部。勇于挑战的Melody希望能看到这个文化不同的另一面,于2004年在Fairfax大街上开了第一家也是唯一一家女性精品店。她的坚持与努力,让这家店的意义远超于传统的实体商店,进而成为了这个非主流文化发源地里代表女性力量的重要部分。除了像发售派对之类的活动以外,Melody还会在洛杉矶以及纽约的店内举办讨论会,为社群的发展提供良好的氛围。

Melody所创作的Air Jordan I合作款内蕴着她个人发展的历程。

以下专访,她将谈论自己成长为女企业家的经历,坚持追随直觉的原因以及更多背后的故事。


在你长大的过程中,是什么启发了你开创自己的独特风格?

体育以及音乐对我影响真的很深。MJ绝对是最早启发我的一位。除此之外,80年代的歌手以及那整个时代也感染着我。随着我渐渐长大,我也接受了嘻哈文化的熏陶,而这一切都仍在不断地变化着。

在这场创作的比赛中,你已经算得上是经验丰富的老手了。与一开始相比,你创作的流程有什么变化吗?

我会说我变得更加高效了,虽然我不清楚这究竟是好事还是坏事。我出身于创作者,随后成为一名女企业家,哪怕这并非是我的初衷,但事实就是这样了。

我创作的过程也改变了许多,就我自己而言,创作过程变得更加地实际与实用。我的确会更多地去考虑我的消费者,就像谁会穿这些东西,为什么他们会穿,以及这对我的创作有什么参考意义。现在的我会提出许多问题,而在最初进行创作时,我更多的是凭借自己的直觉行动。我会制作一些当前市场上欠缺的产品——那些我想要但找不到的东西。

也就是说,你一直都在为自己设计产品,对吗?

是的,当然。

你刚刚谈到了自己成功发展成一名女企业家。在管理门店与投入创作之间,你是如何找到平衡的?

这真的很难。我很幸运,有两位很可靠的员工。 如果没了他们,我不会有机会像现在这样做自己。于是我意识到,为了能让自己继续成长以及拥有更多创作自由,现在的我比以往任何时候都更需要一个团队的帮助。

在几年之前,在开始制作服装的同时,我停止了珠宝相关的创作。因为我无法同时兼顾所有工作。但为了创造出心目中的完美形象并统筹不同的事务,我非常需要他们的帮助。


在一场有意义的对话中,既要包含严肃的讨论,也要有笑话的调剂,而兼顾两者并不是一件容易的事。一次良好的交流就像两个人共舞一般,需要一起把握好节奏。对于某些人来说这是很自然的事,而其他人则必须在这方面下苦功。但Melody并非如此,她平易近人,非常清楚自己整个创作生涯里的价值。她坦诚地阐述自己曾经遇到过的挑战,对于她成功的秘诀也绝不藏私。


作为一名企业家,你学到过最珍贵的一课是什么?

此时此刻,我每过两秒就能学到新的东西!刚开始的时候,我有着很强烈的自尊心。我非常渴望能有拥有一些作品,并把它们视为己出。就像身边育有小孩的朋友一样,我把我的作品当做自己的孩子。但如今我能够更客观理性地看待它们了。在这个层面上,我意识到自己虽然能做的只有这么多,但做到这样就已经足够了。眼下,我明白了一个道理:如果想要创造一些真正有意义的事物,你必须与许多人协同合作,因为这比独自努力更加重要。

你并非一直追寻着创作相关的事业,最初你参与的是法律课程。你是什么时候认识到自己作出了正确的决定?

我报读帕萨迪纳市艺术中心的时候。我上的第一节课,是产品设计入门。在那个时候,我还不知道产品设计师是什么。就在走进课堂的第一个晚上,我才知道那是什么。那就像夜空中的星星串联成星座一般清晰可见,当时的我恍然大悟并为之感叹。这其实就是我一直在做的事情,但我并不知道有那么一个专门的岗位——而做这份工作的人,是能够获得报酬的。

虽然你只是遵循自己的内心,但你会认为成为一名设计师的决定像是你对生活的反抗吗?

这是我生命中做过最强烈的抵抗了。因为这不只是改变自己的想法,在许多层面上还和我周遭人们的想法相悖。我成长在一个父母都是画家的家庭里,但由于创作的方式与他们不同,他们从来不认为我是一名创作者。

对我来说,作出一个这样180度的大转变,就像自己从悬崖边跳下去一样。很多人不再跟我做朋友,因为他们觉得我太奇怪了,或者以为我堕落了。我的母亲也曾非常担心我,但当她意识到这并非是我的一时冲动,她开始强烈要求我去结婚。

在这个重大决定后还发生了什么?有什么象征成功的标志或者特殊的瞬间吗?

所以在做了决定之后,我开始在一家运动鞋公司做实习生,并在其中学到了如何制作运动鞋。起初,我希望能制作出穿着舒适的高跟鞋。当时唯一回应我的一家厂商在中国,所以我就搬去中国生活了六个月。我在那里学会了如何制作鞋子,并将我的第一款女鞋系列带了回来。在完全陌生的中国独自生活的这段时间,让我知道自己无所不能。

当我回来之后,我参加了一个派对。在派对上我通过朋友的关系认识到了Prince。长话短说,他当时问我:“你去了哪里?”于是我向他展示了我制作的鞋子。他真的是一个年轻人的拥护者,对独立创作的有色人群尤其关心。出于支持,他向我提供了第一次展出的机会,这也是我第一次受到别人极大的认可。我独自在中国的村落中呆了六个月,然后回来之后发生的这一切像是我的坚持得到了回报,就这样自然而然地发生了。

所以Prince是你的主要合作方?

对的,Prince是我的主要合作方。

你是街头服饰行业中最受瞩目的女性之一。许多品牌曾经出现过,但又离开了。你认为你是如何坚持下来的?

这其实很有趣。我曾经在NBA实习过一段时间,因为我尝试找到自己的热情所在。我在高中的时候打过篮球,并非常热衷于此。我在NBA里学到的是,球员们感受到的使命感和他们实际的工作,是有实际差异的。对于职业球员而言,他们吃饭,睡觉,呼吸的时间都与篮球紧密相连,这是一件看似简单实则艰难的事情。但这是一种天赋,而他们也都意识到了这一点。他们会在赛场外的慈善活动担当志愿者,会在活动后留下来为球迷们签名。这一切的出现都是因为篮球,而并非球员本身。

那些感受到召唤而去做的人,和那些因为觉得自己应该努力而去做的人,是有本质差异的。于我而言,设计就是一份工作,它是我的媒介,而并非我本身。这只是我服务这个世界的方式而已。从根源来说,这并非只关乎产品而是更与我想传递的信息相关。如果哪一天这个渠道行不通了,那我就会换种其它的方式继续。


Melody非常自信。作为一个介乎80年代末与90年代初出生的孩子,她是时髦的女企业家。她为自己设计:她的指甲,珠宝以及球鞋都与她的个性相呼应。定制的产品让她的风格不断切换,而她蓄势待发的举止更强调了这一点。在拍摄现场,镜头前的她无需指导,毫不费力地就能摆出好看的姿势。


你还记得你的第一双Air Jordan 1吗?

我还记得。直到17岁,我才拥有了属于我的第一双Air Jordan 1。对于喜欢球鞋的人来说算是挺晚的,因为我一直买不起它们。还记得以前的我会打开电台收听每一双Air Jordan发售现场的消息。我一直渴望着能拥有它们,特别是觉得自己不可能买得起的时候。

我永远也不会忘记,在我17岁的时候,我的朋友将我带到梅尔罗斯市,当时那里正值复兴之际,尤其是旧货市场。你去那里能买到旧牛仔裤,然后你会把它裁成短裤。在那里,我还找到一双童码的OG配色的漆皮Air Jordan I。它被放在架子上,然后我买下了它。这双鞋几乎没被穿过,而至今我依然保存着它们。

让我们再回顾一下你设计的这双Air Jordan I上的灵感和方向 – 中底上印着的字,不对称的色彩设计,以及额外的鞋带。你希望我们在这样的设计中感受到什么?

那是我手写上去的一段文字,引述了我最好的朋友之一Julie Burns-Walker说过的话。那里写的是:“如果你知道你所拥有的是多么珍贵,你就再也不会浪费它。”当我听到这句话时,觉得非常地震撼。因为我觉得我们都并非真正地清楚自己是谁,我们对自己的认知依然浮于表面——就是那些物质层面的东西。但我觉得,如果要搞清楚这个问题,要知道我们能够达到什么水平,其实需要更深层次的探索。

我真的很希望将无界限的想法传递到在每个个体及群体的意识中。我们必须颠覆眼前限制,只因我们无所畏惧。从设计的角度来说,这个配色的灵感来源于我最近一次去埃及时指甲的颜色。这是我做过这么多的美甲中最满意的颜色,所以我从中选择了这个颜色组合。

我们来聊聊协调对称的部分。为什么会有手表呢?

鞋子上的表是时间的象征。因为我着迷于事物的永恒性,也会时常提醒自己要把握当下。我很喜欢以时间作为参考系,而这里头传递的信息,我认为每个人都会有不一样的诠释。


Air Jordan I Mid SE ‘Melody Ehsani’ 即将在Jordan.com与指定零售商发售。

Shop the Look

AIR JORDAN I MID FEARLESS

'MELODY EHSANI'

GET NOTIFIED

Interview: Elle Clay

Photos: Anthony Blasko

The “Fearless Ones” celebrates a new generation of defiant, talented individuals. Click here for more stories about the cast.


Melody Ehsani wasn’t always a designer. Before that, she was a restless law school student in her mid-20s, who signed up for night classes at the Art Center in Pasadena and caught an insatiable itch for a career in product design. All told, Melody lasted a week in law school and a few months in the corporate basketball world before pivoting to design full-time. Melody’s mother — herself a painter — initially disapproved of the career-180, and her community distanced themselves, dismissing her as “going through a phase.” Still, she persevered.

Melody’s first foray into jewelry included a line of bamboo earrings encrusted with Swarovski crystals. Where other companies preferred to design with precious metals, Melody made three-finger rings using acrylic. Her early designs, which also included larger-than-life technicolor feathers and pyramid rings, were a hit. She also designed jewelry for the stage, including costume pieces for big-name artists and performers.

When Melody started designing her first women’s footwear collection, the only factories that responded to her were in China. Never one to fear change, she packed up her life and moved to China for six months to personally oversee production. When she returned, she stored hundreds of shoes in her tiny L.A. apartment. Not long after, she received blessings from Prince (yes, that Prince). Three years later, customs seized an entire collection of her shoes at the border (and even that didn’t stop her). Now, Melody has her very own collaborative pair of Air Jordan Is — color-blocked and featuring a quote from her friend, Julie Burns-Walker, along the outsole.

Streetwear was (and in many ways, still is) a boys’ club. Melody dared to see it differently, opening the first and only women’s boutique on Fairfax in 2004. Her perseverance and hustle have made her storefront more than a brick-and-mortar; it’s a place for women (though not just women) at the heart of an ever-booming subculture. In addition to events like release parties, Melody’s L.A. and NYC boutiques host discussions that provide spaces for inclusivity and community.

Melody’s Air Jordan I collaboration has been a lifetime in the making. Here, she talks about being a businesswoman, following her instincts and more.


What inspired your style when you were growing up?

I was really inspired by sports and music. MJ was definitely one of the first to inspire me. Then came singers of the ‘80s and just that whole era. When I got older, my influences came from hip-hip, and then it just kept evolving.

You’re a veteran in the game. How has your creative process changed since you first started?

I’ve gotten a lot more efficient, I would say. I don’t know if that’s a good thing or a bad thing. I started as a creative, and then I evolved into a businesswoman, which I didn’t sign up for. It just sort of happened as a result of making things that you sell yourself.

My creative process has changed a lot, in the sense that I think a lot more practically and in terms of functionality. I really think about my customer more, whether it’s who would wear something, why they’d wear, what it references or why it matters to me. I ask a lot more questions now, whereas at the beginning, it was more intuitive. I made stuff for the holes I saw in the market — things that I wanted but couldn’t find.

Would you say you’ve always designed for yourself, too?

Yeah, definitely.

You talked about blossoming into a businesswoman. How do you balance having multiple stores and being a full-time creative?

It’s really hard. I have two really solid people who work for me, and without them, I wouldn’t be able to do anything that I do. I recognize, now more than ever, that in order for me to grow and become more creative and free, I need help to do what I do.

A couple of years ago, I started making apparel, and at the same time, I stopped making jewelry. I just can’t do everything at one time. In order for me to create the whole look that I want, which is doing everything at one time, I just need to make sure I have help. 


Weaving both serious conversations about business longevity and jokes into a meaningful dialogue doesn’t happen naturally. A good conversation is like being able to dance. For some it’s natural. Others have to work at it. That’s not the case with Melody. She’s easy to talk to and understands that there’s value in her entire creative journey. She’s honest about the challenges she’s encountered and doesn’t hoard her keys to success.


What’s the most valuable lesson you’ve learned as an entrepreneur?

At this point, I learn lessons every two seconds! I had a lot of ego at the beginning. I really wanted to own something, and I want it to be mine. I sort of viewed it as my child. I’d refer it to as my child, as all my friends were actually having children. At this point, I’ve grown a lot more detached from it, in the sense that I can only do so much, and I only want to do so much. At this stage, I’ve learned that in order to make something meaningful, you have to collaborate with a lot of people, and it’s bigger than you.

You weren’t always pursuing the creative side of things; you were initially doing law. When did you know that you had made the right decision?

I signed up for night classes at Art Center in Pasadena. The first class I took was Introduction to Product Design. At the time, I didn’t know what a product designer was. The first night, I went into class, and then I realized what a product designer was. It was as if every star in the sky aligned. I was like, “Oh wow.” This is what I’ve always sort of done; I just didn’t know that there was a position for it — that people actually got paid to do this job.

Did deciding to be a designer feel like defiance, even though you were just following your heart?

It was the most defiant thing I’ve ever done in my life. It wasn’t just about changing my mind, it was about going against my community in a lot of ways. I grew up in a household where both of my parents were painters, and because I wasn’t creative in the same way that they were, they never thought of me as a creative at all.

For me to make a 180 like that, it was like jumping off a cliff by myself. It really felt that way. So many people stopped being friends with me. They all just thought I was weird, or that I had fallen off. My mom was really worried about me. When she realized this wasn’t a stage, she started heavily focusing on getting me married.

What happened after the big decision? Was there a sign or a specific moment of success?

So after I did that, I started interning for a sneaker company, and I learned how to make sneakers. At first, I wanted to make heels that were comfortable. The only factories that would get back to me were in China, so I moved to China for six months. I learned how to make shoes, and I came back with my first collection. Being able to be in China by myself, where nothing was familiar to me, made me know that I could do anything.

When I got back, I was at a party. I had gotten to know Prince through a mutual friend, and long story short, he was like, “Where have you been?” I showed him the shoes, and since he was a real advocate for young people, especially industrial people of color who owned something, he offered me my first gig. That was the first, big confirmation I got. I had literally just spent six months in a village in China, and then I came back, and that happened.

So, Prince was your major co-sign?

Yeah. Prince was my major co-sign.

“in order to make something meaningful, you have to collaborate with a lot of people, and it's bigger than you.”

You’re one of the more recognizable women in streetwear. A lot of brands have come and gone. Where would you say that your endurance comes from?

It’s interesting. I interned at the NBA for a while, because I was trying to figure out my passion. I played basketball during high school, and I was really passionate about it. Something I learned at the NBA was that there’s a real difference between the players who feel that it’s their calling versus just what they do. For the players who ate, slept and breathed basketball, it wasn’t exactly effortless, but it was a gift, and they recognized it as such. Those players would volunteer for the after-game activities or charity-related stuff. They would always stay back and sign autographs. It’s about the game, not them.

There’s a real difference between people who do what they feel called to do vs. people who work hard because they think that’s what they’re supposed to do. For me, design is just something. It’s my vehicle. It’s not who I am, it’s just my way of serving the world. It’s never really about the products, it’s about the movement and the message I’m trying to spread. The moment that vessel stops working, I’ll switch to something else.


Melody is confident. A child of the late ‘80s and early ‘90s, she’s the fly girl entrepreneur. She designs for herself: her nails, jewelry and sneakers all reverberate from her personality. The ‘fit hits different when it’s custom made, and her smoldering demeanor accents it. On set, she poses with ease and doesn’t need direction in front of the camera.


Do you remember your first pairs of Air Jordan 1s?

I do. I didn’t have my first pair until I was 17, which is really late in the game, because I could never afford them. I remember turning on the radio on and hearing about what was happening every time an Air Jordan dropped. I always coveted them, especially thinking that I could never have them. 

I’ll never forget, I was 17, and my friend took me to Melrose, which was poppin’ back then, especially for vintage stuff. You went there to get your vintage denim, and you would cut it into shorts; it was a whole thing. I found a pair of patent leather Air Jordan Is, the original colorway, for kids. They were on the rack, and I bought them. They were barely used, and I still have them actually.

Walk us through the inspiration and the direction of your Air Jordan I — the text on the midsole, the mismatching colors, watches, extra laces and more. What were you trying to make us feel with this design?

There’s a quote that I hand-wrote on the shoe from one of my best friends, Julie Burns-Walker. It says, “If you knew what you had was truly rare, you would never waste it.” That quote was really powerful to me when I heard it, because I think that we still don’t know what we truly are. We’re only aware of the surface of what we are — these physical beings — but I think there’s a lot more depth to who we are and what our bodies are able to do.

I really wanted to plant this seed of limitlessness in people’s minds and the collective consciousness. We have to think bigger, because we are bigger. From a design perspective, the colorway is inspired by something I tried on my nails during a recent trip to Egypt. Those were my favorite nails that I’ve ever done, which says a lot, because I do my nails a lot. I chose the color combinations from my nails.

Talk about coordination. What about the watches?

The watches on the shoe are just a symbol of time. I always talk about how things are timeless, or that the time is now. I just love references to time, and I thought that this message could be open to interpretation.


The Air Jordan I Mid SE ‘Melody Ehsani’ is available starting November 15 on Jordan.com, SNKRS and at select retailers.

Shop the Look

AIR JORDAN I MID FEARLESS

'MELODY EHSANI'

GET NOTIFIED