2017年,Virgil Abloh达成了一项近乎不可能的成就。他不仅一次性公布了著名的 “The Ten”企划, 其中囊括了十双来自NikeJordan以及Converse经典鞋款的合作版本,还为其注入了独特的解构主义美学,而这股风潮也从此主导着新一代的球鞋潮流。尽管这份成绩似乎已经难以逾越,但Virgil一直致力于不断进步超越自我。我有着属于自己的半成品设计语言,就像之前关于解构主义的Off-White x Air Jordan I”Virgil解释道,但这已经是三年前的概念,我已经对它不感兴趣了。我的设计语言又一次进化了。

在一系列以跑步,网球以及滑板运动为灵感的合作产品发布后,紧随其至的,是全新的Off-White x Air Jordan V。这双球鞋的再创设计,内蕴了Virgil的雄心壮志重新定义Nike Air本身的概念。在某种意义上,这个举动也是Virgil怀旧的体现,因为这会让人想起他说服父母买的第一双Air Jordan鞋款, Black Metallic Air Jordan V当时我父母的态度是,这有什么特别的?”Virgil回忆道,但对我来说,它们就像来自超级英雄的装备。睡前,我会把这双球鞋放在卧室的梳妆台上,这样我醒过来的第一瞬间就能看到它们。

除了对这双球鞋的个人回忆,Virgil还看到了一些关于 Nike Air对消费者意义的市场调查报告。我至今依然迷恋着Nike Air这个概念。Nike曾经在全球范围内做过一次调查,在某些地方的人们认为,Nike Air甚至比实际的空气更为纯净。”Virgil将这个概念提炼具化为不同的,这些洞都出现在Off-White x Air Jordan V的鞋面设计和包装鞋盒上 (以及最近发布的Off-White x Nike Dunk)。我全新的设计语言,便是将这些洞遍布各处。其中想表达的是,外界环境的空气其实与产品内置的Nike Air相通。这就是为什么鞋盒上也出现了这些孔洞。

当然,除了连接Nike Air以及户外空气的概念以外,这款设计还有更宽阔的含义。Virgil全新的设计语言,与Jordan品牌对Air的独特定义产生了共鸣,尤其是对Michael Jordan那独一无二的腾空漫步的灵感启发。这个经典场面依然激励着Virgil不断地创作。90年代,我还是个在电视机前观看Michael Jordan比赛的小孩,我从来没有想过有一天我能为他设计球鞋,更别提在他的球鞋之上的再次创作。于我而言,他就是超级英雄。从罚球线起跳的灌篮,率队赢下六个总冠军,他做到的都是不可能的事情。在设计方面,如果我也能完成这么多不可思议的事情,那我便处于自己的最佳状态。

此外,Michael JordanVirgil还对另一种空气有着共通的理解,那便是掠过风城芝加哥上空的冷空气。虽然Jordan的事迹已被全世界传颂,但它在芝加哥市民的心目中依然占据着一个特殊的位置。我成长于Jordan的时代。我会去市中心和朋友见面,一同通过购物来学习。当时我的梦想是,我希望能创作出一些能放在这家店买的产品。’”Virgil的乘车通票,自然也成了他在芝加哥的通行证。整整三年,我都通过蓝绿线的列车往返学校。这些不同的铁路,其实象征着不同的乘客,他们各自拥有不同的身份以及观点,却共存于这座城市的生命线之上。正是其中的差异性,令这座城市焕发出独特的光彩,也是这次Jordan芝加哥设计师合作系列的最佳比喻。

Michael JordanNike Air以及芝加哥内包容的列车,都是平等赋权的象征,而这也是Virgil通过DIY细节注入球鞋中的概念。Michael Jordan给予了Virgil斗篷以及腾空的机会。而现在,Virgil也通过自己的作品,为那些敢于尝试不可能的人们提供前进的可能性。

这是一个类比。你可以递给孩子一张床单,然后告诉他们去飞翔。又或者,你可以带给他们一件复刻的超级英雄斗篷,他们便会相信自己正在飞翔,哪怕那只是一块普通的布料。这就是Air Jordan鞋款带给我的意义。虽然那只是一双普通的球鞋,但Jordan曾经穿着他们完成不可能的事。如果你带给孩子带来一双这样的球鞋,然后让他们也尝试从罚球线腾空,这双球鞋就会变成他们的超级英雄斗篷。这正是我所热爱的,因为这关乎信念。


Jordan芝加哥艺术家联名系列,包括Off-White x Air Jordan V,从228日起发售

In 2017, Virgil Abloh did something that once seemed impossible. He not only released 10 collaboration versions of iconic Nike, Jordan and Converse sneakers, “The Ten,” but he also gave them a deconstructed aesthetic that has dominated sneaker trends ever since. That might seem like a tough run to follow, yet Virgil has always been committed to progression. “I had my half-made design language, like the previous Off-White x Air Jordan I, which was about deconstruction,” explains Virgil. “That’s a three-year-old idea that I’m not interested in anymore. That design language has evolved.”

What comes next, after a series of collaborative Nike Running, Tennis and Skateboarding-inspired product, is the new Off-White x Air Jordan V, a shoe re-designed with an ambitious approach — to redefine the idea of Nike Air itself. The move is partially nostalgic, a tie back to the first Air Jordan that Virgil ever owned, and that he convinced his parents to buy for him, the Black Metallic Air Jordan V. “My parents were like, ‘I don’t get it. What’s the big deal?’” remembers Virgil. “For me, it was like they came from a superhero. I was sleeping with the shoes in my bedroom, on the dresser, so I could see them when I woke up.”

Building on his personal memories with the shoe, Virgil was shown some market research about how much Nike Air means to consumers. “I’m still enamored by the idea of Nike Air,” he says. “Nike did a survey around the world, and in some places, people had the impression that Nike Air is more pure than actual air.” Virgil abstracted this idea with holes, which are present on the Off-White x AJV design and box (and the recent Off-White x Nike Dunk releases, as well). “I came up with this new language, which is having these holes through everything,” Virgil explains. “You know, the same air that’s outside is in the product. So that’s why there are holes in the box, too.”

“MJ was a man who became a superhero.”

Of course, there are layers beyond the vision of bridging Nike Air and outdoor air. Virgil’s new design language resonates with Jordan Brand’s distinct definition of air, particularly MJ’s one-of-a-kind way of flying through it. That legacy still drives Virgil to create. “During the ‘90s, I was the kid watching Jordan on TV, and I never thought I would be able to do one of his shoes, let alone add anything to them,” says Virgil. “MJ was a man who became a superhero. He was jumping from the free throw line, winning six championships, doing the impossible. In design, I feel like I’m at my best if I can almost mirror how impossible those tasks were.”

MJ and Virgil share an understanding of another type of air, the chill that blows through the Windy City. Though MJ’s story has spread worldwide, it continues to have a special place in the heart of Chicagoans. “I grew up in the Jordan era,” explains Virgil. “I would come downtown to meet my crew of friends, and we would learn by shopping. My dreams were like, ‘I want to make something that can go in this store.’” Virgil’s transit pass doubled as a passport to the world within Chicago. “I personally spent three years on that train, taking the blue and green lines to school and back,” he remembers. “These different train lines are literally different people, with different identities and points of view, all coexisting on the lifeline of the city. It makes the city what it is, and it’s the perfect metaphor for this bigger Jordan Chicago Collaborators’ Collection.”

The symbols of MJ, Nike Air and the all-encompassing train are equally about empowerment, something Virgil has applied to his sneakers through DIY details. MJ gave Virgil his metaphorical cape and permission to take flight. Now, Virgil is doing the same for anyone who dares to try the impossible next.

“Here’s the analogy,” he continues. “You could give a kid a bed sheet and tell them to fly. Or you could give them a replica of a superhero cape. They’re going to believe that they’re flying, even though, either way, it’s just fabric. That’s what Air Jordans are to me. Yes, they’re just shoes, but MJ was doing feats in them. If you give a pair of shoes to a kid, and tell them to jump from the free throw line, that’s their superhero cape. That’s what I love. It’s about believing.”


The full Jordan Chicago Collaborators’ Collection, including the Off-White x Air Jordan V, releases globally starting February 15.

Shop the Look

AIR JORDAN V

'Virgil Abloh'

GET NOTIFIED